Board of Directors

  • Michelle Norris

    Professor Michelle Norris (Chairperson)

    Professor Norris was initially appointed to the Board in 2012, and re-appointed as HFA Chairperson in January 2017. She is Head of School in UCDs' School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice, and her teaching and research interests focus on social housing policy and urban regeneration. During her career she has led or participated in 20 research projects on these issues and has produced over 100 publications on the results. Her latest book entitled Property, Family and the Irish Welfare State was published by Palgrave Macmillan in 2016.

  • Padraic Cafferty

    Mr. Padraic Cafferty

    Padraic was initially appointed to the Board in 2012, and re-appointed in January 2017. He is the Founder and Chairman of Datascan, Executive Chairman at Northwood Technology Ltd, and Proprietor at Westpoint Business Centre and Sigmund Business Centre, Glasnevin, Dublin. Padraic is a member of the Institute of Directors and Past President of the Irish Security Industry Association. Padraic serves as a non-executive director of the Private Security Authority.

  • Emma Cunningham

    Ms. Emma Cunningham

    Emma was appointed to the Board in January 2017. She works in the Banking Division of the Department of Finance, dealing with a range of issues including policy for the banking and payment sectors, in Ireland and at EU level. Emma has held a number of positions in the Department throughout her career to date, including working as Budget Counsellor in the Permanent Representation of Ireland to the European Union.

  • Clare Curley

    Ms. Clare Curley

    Clare was appointed to the Board in January 2017. She works as Director of Services, with responsibility for Housing, with Tipperary County Council. Clare previously worked as Director of Services for Human Resources and Corporate Services, and also had responsibility for Fire and Emergency Services. She is the District Director for the Cashel Tipperary Municipal District and holds a BA degree in Public Management.

  • Brian Fitzpatrick

    Mr. Brian Fitzpatrick

    Brian was appointed to the Board in March 2017. He started his business career working as an accountant with Readymix Ltd, progressing to Financial Controller before making his move to the financial services sector when he joined First National Building Society. There he held a number of positions including Group Financial Controller and gained considerable experience in the mortgage finance industry. In 1998 Brian moved to BAM Contractors Ltd, Ireland’s largest civil engineering and construction company, where he worked as Finance Director and Company Secretary until his retirement last year. He continues to be a non-executive Director of the Company.

  • Aideen Hayden

    Dr. Aideen Hayden

    Aideen was appointed to the Board in March 2017. Aideen holds a PhD in housing policy from UCD. She was a member of Seanad Eireann from 2011 to 2016, nominated by the Taoiseach, where she served as vice chair of the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform. She is currently Chair of Threshold, National Housing charity. Aideen is also a founding member of the Residential Tenancies Board. Aideen is a qualified Solicitor and holds a degree in Economics.

  • William Johnston

    Mr. William Johnston

    William was appointed to the board in March 2017. William is a solicitor with an M.A. in economics and administration from Trinity College Dublin. He was chair of the International Bar Association’s banking law division and a partner in Arthur Cox for 30 years where he headed the Finance Department. He is a board member of the Port of Waterford Company, the Honorary Secretary of the National Maternity Hospital and the external examiner for the Law Society in banking law.

  • Lianne Patterson

    Ms. Lianne Patterson

    Lianne was appointed to the Board in March 2017. Lianne joined the Northern Ireland Civil Service in 2005 and was appointed to her current role of Director of Justice Delivery in the Department of Justice in 2013. A chartered accountant by profession, Lianne spent a large part of her career in the private sector with roles in Deloitte and PricewaterhouseCoopers in the areas of organisational change, audit, financial advisory services and management consultancy. Prior to her current role Lianne previously held roles as Senior Finance Director in the Department of Infrastructure and as Head of Finance in the Public Prosecution Service and the Northern Ireland Office.

  • Derek Rafferty

    Mr. Derek Rafferty

    Derek was appointed to the Board in January 2017. He is a Principal Officer in the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government with responsibility for Social Housing Policy. Derek previously worked in a number of other Government Departments including the Department of Transport where he held a number of roles including Head of the Aviation Security Unit and in the EU Commission (Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs). Derek holds Master’s degrees in Business (University College Dublin), Taxation (Dublin City University) and Economics (Trinity College Dublin).

  • Jennifer Ward

    Ms. Jennifer Ward

    Jennifer was appointed to the Board in March 2017. She is an independent consultant working with an active client base, and an associate with PriceWaterhouseCoopers in Advisory Consulting. Jennifer was a non-Executive Board member of Clúid Housing from 2015 to 2017, and a member of Clúid’s ‘Growing Our Business’ Committee. She previously worked with AIB's Financial Solutions Group and, in roles as, Head of Investment Planning & Prioritisation and Head of Group Change Management for AIB Group. Jennifer holds an MSc in Management Practice and a BA (Mod) in Economics & Business, both from Trinity College Dublin’s Business School.